RSS Feed

Super Yum Sauce

I stayed up too late last night, watching documentaries on the Terrorist attacks.  Which made for a very difficult Monday morning, with 7 AM meetings.  And, it was a telepresence meeting…  If you’ve never been in a telepresence meeting, just don’t schedule one for 7 AM on a Monday.  Ever.  It’s mean.

It’s a super fancy video conference, where it appears that the people in the other site are sitting opposite the table from you.  Seriously.  The technology is amazing.  However, despite the amazing technology, no one thought to add a filter when it’s 7 AM Pacific time (my time) and 3 PM UK time.  Our colleagues were all wide awake & refreshed, and the circles under my eyes just could NOT be covered this morning!  I did wake up in time to get fully ready for work, which has been a challenge lately.  Got a few compliments on my new hairstyle, and the Exec. Director remarked about how cute my dress was!  It really does pay to get ready for work in the morning!

TinyLaLa Check-in Day!

Moving forward, I’m going to use Mondays as my check-in day…  That’ll bring me some consistency and remind me that I can’t just go hog-wild over the weekend.  (Not that I did this weekend – I think I did pretty well, even if I didn’t move my body much yesterday, I did 2 workouts on both Friday and Saturday, and made good choices food-wise).

Weight:  208 pounds

Plan for the week:  It’s Triathlon Taper Time, kids!

  • Monday:  Pilates
  • Tuesday:  Weight training
  • Wednesday:  Swimming & 2 mile run
  • Thursday:  15 mile cycle
  • Friday:  Weight training
  • Saturday:  REST – Parents arrive!
  • Sunday:  Nautica Malibu Triathlon – Sprint distance (.5 mile swim, 18 mile bike, 4 mile run)
Food Plan for the week is on track!  Post on the meal planning process later this week – promise!

Dinner Tonight!

We started the week with this amazing recipe, adapted from Cooking Light‘s June 2011 issue:
Pineapple Chicken Satay
Serves:  4.  Serve with:  Brown Rice & Green veg
  • 1/4 cup Lower-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup Sweet chili sauce
  • 1/4 cup Natural-style crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp Sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 pound Chicken breast, cut into cubes
  • 1.5 cups diced pineapple
  • 1/3 c chopped red onion
  • 1 Tbsp Dried cilantro (or 2 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro)
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1/8 tsp Ground red pepper
  1. Combine soy sauce, chili sauce, and peanut butter in a bowl & stir.
  2. Combine oil, curry, and chicken in a 2nd bowl; toss to coat.  Skewer chicken onto 6″ skewers.
  3. Grill over medium heat, about 4 minutes each side.
  4. Combine pineapple, onion, cilantro, lemon juice & red pepper in a 3rd bowl & stir.
  5. Serve chicken with sauce and pineapple salsa.
This recipe was amazing.  The hubby thought the sauce was a bit salty, but I thought it matched the sweetness of the pineapple salsa really well.  I believe I referred to it as “Super Yum Sauce” a few times during dinner.  And I’m pretty sure I tried to offer some to my dog, because I think every being should experience Super Yum Sauce.  Yes, it’s that good.

Pineapple salsa, flavors mixing...

Once we finished eating (I served it with brown rice, but didn’t make any veg), I cut up some celery stalks, just so that I could finish up the sauce that was on my plate.  I lapped it up.  And then I used some of the pineapple salsa as a “chip” to dip it in.  So good, my friends.  So good.
Of course, dinner wouldn’t be complete without my last cupcake (I forgot to take the cupcakes into work today, but the hubby will do it tomorrow).

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cupcake with Cream Cheese Frosting

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

5 responses »

  1. Eew. That is just NOT cool. (The Monday morning, filter-less technology). My office has these horrible fluorescent lights that make me look like the walking dead no matter how well-rested I am, so I can relate.

    On a happier note, that looks like a fantastic workout plan leading up to your tri! Glad to see you have a rest day scheduled for Friday 🙂

    Reply
    • My boss is in the UK now (for this series of meetings this week), but he’s been on vacation for the past week in Europe. He looked SO relaxed and amazing. I’m sure I looked like a street urchin in comparison (well, not really, but you know…) The lighting surely did me no favors.

      I’m going to need that rest day. The other workouts will be light, I promise. I refuse to get injured this week! (A buddy just pulled his calf muscle, so he has to skip the run for his try on Saturday!)

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Winner, Winner… Fish dinner! « TresLaLa to TinyLaLa

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday – Take 2 « TresLaLa to TinyLaLa

  4. Pingback: When the Cat’s Away… « TresLaLa to TinyLaLa

Leave a comment