RSS Feed

Holy Cupcake, Batman!

Until recently (umm, Sunday), I don’t recall ever making a baked good from scratch.  And then I did.  And those Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting were good, my friends.

But they’re not this good:

Yikes.

This is for 1 cupcake – I took Jenna’s recipe, doubled it and entered it into Calorie King, with 18 servings.  I then took her recipe for the frosting, doubled it, and entered it in with 24 servings (’cause there was a lot left once we finished frosting those cakes).  And even though I’ve counted my little calories for years now, and I knew as I was putting in the butter and the oil, and the cream cheese, that there were an awful lot of calories in those things, for some reason because I was using fresh ingredients, wholesome ingredients (whole wheat flour!), that it would somehow zero out, and I’d be left with something other than a calorie bomb.

But they are a calorie bomb, my friends.

I won’t make that mistake again!  From now on:

Calorie King first, stand mixer second.

Luckily, the hubby took the rest into work today, so I won’t have any temptations this evening.  Of course, that’s after he had 1 for Breakfast dessert, 1 for Lunch dessert, and a 3rd for Dinner dessert yesterday.  Yeah, there might be 2 sweet-tooths in the house!

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

3 responses »

  1. Yes please! I will take those 500 calories for a delicious pumpkin cupcake. I think I must try these…

    Reply
    • You and I have very different responses to this, my dear. I’m pretty sure I swore extra loudly when it all added together, and that little red bar reared its ugly head…

      Reply
  2. I’ve been browsing online greater than three hours these days, but I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s beautiful worth sufficient for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the net will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

