RSS Feed

As much as I complain…

Posted on

… I really should give credit where credit is due. I am making life changes. My lifestyle is different than it was just a month ago, and I’m the reason for that. I have made good food choices. I have also made some bad ones — but they’ve been mostly good. I have exercised with abandon. I have also slacked at my workouts sometimes — but they’ve been mostly warrior-call workouts, with sweat pouring down my face. Aiaiaiaiaiaiaiaiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!

I may not be pretty in pictures. I may not have looked super cute finishing my 10K. But I’m out there, living life, eating well, being active. I’m turning down opportunities to eat & drink, and working out instead. Or, like last night, worked out, THEN went to the happy hour where everyone was, and sat with a few glasses of ice water, until I was able to go home & make my own dinner. Not even one chip crossed these lips.

The other day I was in a pissy mood. Work stank, and I was angry. I thought: What would make this better? My response: A workout. Not a cookie, not chips, not a chocolate-covered toffee from the gift shop (which would, normally, in the past, make ANYTHING better). A workout. So I grabbed my bag, went to the gym and ran. I did a mile warm up (at 6 mph), then brought out my inner GIJANE :hi: and sprinted. Like it was no body’s business. 15 seconds. Walk for 30. Sprint 30 seconds. Walk for 30. Sprint for 45 seconds. Walk for 30. Then I sprinted 45 again. Walk for 30. For 15 minutes. And it felt good.

My belly may not have caught up yet, but my brain certainly has.

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

Leave a Reply

