RSS Feed

What I Ate Wednesday – Take 1

My first real day of What I Ate Wednesday…  But, I’m not sure that I did it correctly.

I started out this morning thinking, “What will people think if I have pizza?”  Or “What will people think if I just have a Luna bar, and no fruit?”  But, as the day wore on, I realized that I needed to make choices for myself – what worked for me.  I did think it was interesting that I was more willing to eat “well” knowing that other people are reading it, as opposed to eating well “just” for myself.  It seems to me that I need to re-evaluate what I’m eating and the choices that I’m making.  The truth is:  I know what the “better” choices are, I just don’t always make them.  Today, I made some, and I’d like to continue the trend.

I started with iced coffee with skim milk at 7:45 AM, but I think the milk had turned.  I find that organic milk turns so much quicker than “normal”.  I assume that’s because it doesn’t have the additives, but I really need to remember to smell it before pouring!

Breakfast – 9:30 AM

I was able to get another (non-tainted) cup of coffee after my first few meetings, and also picked up 4 organic hardboiled eggs (I only eat the whites) and a whole wheat English muffin with whipped cream cheese & strawberry preserves.

Lunch 1:15 PM

Went out to The Natural Cafe for lunch to take a break from the office.

Iced tea with my battery-starved Nook - so much for reading during lunch!

The "Local Favorite" with avocado, sprouts, lettuce, tomato & garlic mayo on whole wheat with blue corn tortilla chips & salsa

Afternoon Snack – 4:15 PM

On my way to an appointment, I had some water & a Lemon Zest Luna bar.  Mmmmm, lemon.

Dinner – 7:30 PM

Tonight’s dinner was a mash-up of leftovers added into a whole wheat tortilla:

  • Stir-fried chicken breast with carrots & celery
  • Jalapeño pub cheese with vegetarian chili and tomatoes
  • Zucchini, red bell pepper, and corn from the cob sautéed with a mix of spices

Hansen's Diet Root Beer on the side

Dessert – 8:30 PM

Getting great stone fruit in our bi-weekly delivery of fruits & vegetables, I’ve really gotten creative in using them.  I’ve been chopping up the plums, microwaving for 30 seconds.  I then topped them with 1/4 c of homemade granola, and about 1 t of agave nectar.  Super yum!

The lazy girl's crisp - don't hate.

Add 2 Medjool dates to the mix, and that’s What I Ate Wednesday.

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

4 responses »

  1. I’ve never had a Luna bar before.. Whaty your favorite flavor? 🙂

    Reply
    • The Lemon Zest IS my favorite flavor! Slightly tangy, a bit of yogurt coating on the bottom. Yum. My 2nd fave is the Chocolate Peppermint Stick. That one’s 180 cal, 5 g fat, 4 g fiber, 8 g protein. Tastes like a candy bar, but *healthy*. (Errr, healthier, it’s not like it’s a celery stick or anything…) For me, they’re a good alternative when I need a snack, but don’t have any “real” foods around.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The first day of the rest of my life or the new diet. » Suburban Insanity

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday – Take 5 « TresLaLa to TinyLaLa

Leave a Reply

