RSS Feed

… And, I dropped!

I’m a shopper.  I really love the little rush I get when I find something that I really want at a great price.  When I was little (think 8 or so), I had a t-shirt that had this picture of a shopping dinosaur, with the definition of a Shopasaurus (n) 1. A creature who delights in browsing thru malls and other retail stores.  2. Any beast gratified by obtaining merchandise in exchange for currency, plastic cards, or personal checks.  

Source

My Mom had bought this t-shirt for me – and I wasn’t even with her…  She knew that I was a shopaholic.  Thinking back on it, I realize that this was probably her fault.  Going shopping was the ultimate treat – we went every year for my birthday.  Of course, my birthday is in August, so we were really just school clothes shopping (my brother’s birthday is in August too, but he didn’t want clothes, of course).

As a pre-schooler, I was just a tad materialistic.  Not that we had a lot of money, mind you.  But I told my mom that I would only wear shirts with an alligator, jeans with a horse, and shoes with a swoosh.  I got plain-pockets jeans from JCPenny’s.  As much as my mom fed my shopping addiction, she knew that she didn’t need to spend a lot to make me look good.  I distinctly remember looking through the jeans at Burlington Coat Factory (in Burlington, WI) for Guess! Jeans that the little triangle patch hadn’t been stolen from.

In the past*, I’ve struggled a bit with keeping to a budget.  But, I find it hard to pass up a good deal.

* Also in the present

Like yesterday, when I stopped in a Road Runner Sports during my lunch hour.  I’m a frequent visiter of RRS.  The managers know me because I used to train with them for my half marathons (Hot tip:  If you have a RRS near you, check to see if they have running training programs – they’re great, and they have fantastic raffles/giveaways!).  Even though I haven’t trained with them in over a year, they still know me by name – pretty cool for a “corporate” store.

When I stopped in yesterday, the manager, Jim, was working in the ladies’ section.  We chatted for a bit, and he mentioned that all the fall “fashion” had come in.  SCORE!  It’s still 95* in SoCal – I don’t need “fall fashion”, but I could use some more tanks and shorts.  And there they were:  3 racks full of clearance items!

I love the RRS running pants; they’re better than any other brand that I’ve tried (and I have tried a LOT of work out pants!).  Of course, the best part is that they’re big enough & don’t cut me off in the middle (not too much of a sausage casing!).  I was able to pick up 2 pair of grey capri pants on sale.  I also picked up a running skirt (surprisingly flattering on these gams!), a workout jacket that I’m convinced should not have been on the clearance rack, 2 tank tops, and 3 packs of my favorite hair bands (Nike brand thin ones, 3 per pack, with little dots of sticky on the back… I’m very picky…).

Behold some of my loot:

Gray pants with a purple t-backed tank. The tank has a little waist at the bottom, which will be great once I'm pregnant, but not telling anyone!

Bright pink tank with great ribbing with the running skirt. Sorry that there are no pics of my legs - they're way better than you'd think they'd be, based on these pictures! 🙂

Next time I post a picture of myself, I will have on make-up and do my hair.  I promise I don’t always look like I just woke up.*

* Actually, lately?  Usually I do

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

2 responses »

  1. Loving those tank tops! They look great on you!! 🙂

    Im totally a Shopasaurus! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

