RSS Feed

Busy, Busy Bee

Saturday was a full day!  I feel like I fit a whole weekend into the 18 hours that I was awake…

6:15 AM – Alarm goes off.  I’d been lying awake, trying to get back to sleep – too much booze on Friday night.  Booze + Lara = No sleeping!

6:30 AM – Out of bed, brushing teeth, running around (nekkid!) looking for my HRM & a clean bathing suit

6:50 AM – Load up the car with my bike, wetsuit, and 2 (yes, 2) gym bags that include clothes for biking and running

6:55 – 7:25 AM – Drive to Malibu & head over to the beach

7:30 – 9 AM – Swim practice in the ocean.  Run in, high knees with surf at knees, dolphin diving (x3) when the surf is at my waist, then swimming.  Sounds so easy.  It’s not.

9:30 AM – Finally head out with the team for a 15 mile cycle; basically the race route for next week’s race.  But, somehow it was 3 miles shorter (?!?).  Weird.  A good ride, except for the rain on the way back (like daggers!) and the wet roads.  There were also loads of people on the side of the road with flat tires.  Not sure what that was all about!

10:30 AM – Call my friend who I’m supposed to meet for lunch at her place in Santa Monica.  I’m not really feeling going out in trendy SM, so I ask if we can meet at a restaurant in Malibu instead, where I have a Groupon.  Luckily, she agrees!

11 AM – Arrive at Starbucks, where I order the now-famous pumpkin spice iced coffee.  Eh.  Kind of gross.  I don’t need to muck up perfectly good coffee with that stuff again.

11:30 AM – 12:30 PM– Brunch at Coogie’s Beach Cafe in Malibu.  I got the Breakfast Quesedilla, no cheese, sub egg whites.  Eh, it was OK.  Nothing special…  But, after last night’s indulgence, I don’t really need a fantastic  breakfast!  Bill came to $25, which was exactly the amount for our Groupon.  I tossed in cash for tip, and we were all set!

1 PM – While checking my email at Starbucks, I got an email from Road Runner Sports, letting me know that today was the last day to sign up for the Reyes Adobe Days 10K race, on October 1 at a discount.  And if I signed up in store, I’d get an additional 10% off.  So, I headed over there, to sign up for the race ($29, includes after party and a tech-tee) and pick up a new pair of running shoes!

1:30 PM – Home.  Shower.  Nap.

3 – 3:45 PM – Head to the grocery store, to pick up sustenance for today’s BBQ.

3:45 – 4:20 PM – Clean the kitchen & vacuum the tile.  Our friend Christina was coming over & our house was a disaster!  Cried a bit when Coach Kill from University of Minnesota was having a seizure on the sidelines of the UM game.  So scary!

4:20 PM until 8 PM – Chatted with Christina, watched UVA with the game (woot! – it was a close one, and the hubby was not pleased!), made dinner, and flipped through catalogs.  Christina & her hubby just bought a new house (eeek!), so they’re looking to furnish it!  FUN!

Dinner was grilled bison burgers (0.9 lb ground bison, 1 egg, 3 cloves garlic, salt & pepper; form into 4 patties), topped with marble cheese, avocado, lettuce, tomato, plus grilled veggie kabobs (zucchini, red & green bell pepper, onion & mushrooms with olive oil spray, sea salt & pepper) and steamed corn on the cob (with butter, of course!).

Small burgers, large buns (it's all they had...) - about 1/3 of this bun ended up in the garbage before I even started eating!

With the burger veggie toppings

A few tasters of the hubby's IPA - super good!

8 PM – Midnight:  Blogging (3 posts!, phew!), reading blogs, checking Facebook, watching Nascar…  Another exciting weekend night at the TresLaLa abode!

On the docket for tomorrow?  If it’s warm & sunny, hang out in the pool.  In the evening:  Mix up some cupcakes using my new stand mixer!  Woot!

What do you prefer?  Busy weekends or lazy days?

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

2 responses »

  1. Looks like you were pretty busy!

    Since Im always so busy during the week, I prefer lazy weekends. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

