RSS Feed

What I Ate Wednesday – Take 4

Ah, crud!  I didn’t realize that the little workout chart that I made didn’t turn out!  Will fix shortly!

So, this morning I had a bit of a blog FAIL.  I forgot to grab the memory card out of my computer!  So I had my camera, but didn’t have any way to record the pics!  Yikes.

So, I’m going to have to recreate my meals.  Luckily:  I eat the same things on many days!

Breakfast was oatmeal with a bunch of blackberries mashed up underneath, topped with cinnamon, a tablespoon of creamy peanut butter, and about 15 red seedless grapes.

Swap the granola pictured for a bunch of grapes and the coffee from home with a Starbucks with skim milk & cinnamon.

I ran out to the post office at lunch to mail 2 packages:  1 for a friend who I worked with in Houston who’s turning 40 this week and another for a friend who I studied abroad with in Switzerland who’s having a baby any day now!  I just hope the gifts get there in time:  specifically the 40th birthday one – I shipped it to her sister, since she’s hosting a surprise b-day party (don’t worry, she doesn’t know about the blog…)

Stopped at The Natural Cafe (again).  I love that place.  I got the Local favorite again, but this time it was in a to-go container & wolfed down at my desk.  Classy.

The "Local Favorite" - avocado, sprouts, lettuce, tomato & garlic mayo on whole wheat with blue corn tortilla chips & salsa

My afternoon snack was a banana…  No pics of that from earlier WIAWs, though.  Sorry!

Source

I’d already taken out some frozen chicken breast from the freezer, which we didn’t eat last night.  So instead of the veggie spaghetti with anti-meat crumbles, I made some chicken breast stir-fry with my own take on fried rice.  I got the fabulous idea of fried rice from Jenna at Eat, Live, Run.  But I didn’t have the wherewithal to pull up the recipe, or follow one.  So I improvised.

We had a bunch of random veggies in the fridge, and another delivery from our CSA coming tomorrow, so it was time to use them all up.  The hubby was in charge of chopping, when I went to shower after my workout.

I was then in charge of prepping the chicken (sautéed in 1 tablespoon of oil, cracked pepper, and red pepper flakes)…

… and then making the actual “fried” rice.  I started sautéing the onions, peppers, carrots, and celery in about 1.5 teaspoons of sesame oil.  Then I added the mushrooms & corn (which had already been cooked).  In the meantime, I nuked a bag of Trader Joe’s frozen brown rice (yep, lazy, but super good).

Mason wanted to help in the kitchen, but his lack of thumbs made that difficult!

Once the veggies were cooked, I added the hot rice to the pan & made a little volcano.  I then dropped in 2 eggs, and mixed it all until the eggs were cooked.  Not sure that the eggs really added much to the taste, but still…  It was a decent addition protein-wise…

This was topped with some Siracha sauce for spice and a new batch of Super Yum Sauce.  Although, we ran out of soy sauce, so I added some lite Teriyaki…  I couldn’t tell the difference.  Next time, I might add in some Siracha though – love that stuff!

Dessert was a plum cut up, nuked to warm it up a bit, plus some thawed mixed berries, topped with a 1/4 cup of granola, some whipped cream, and some nuked Trader Joe’s Salted Caramel sauce.  Super tasty!

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

3 responses »

  1. i love “kitchen sink meals”. that is what i call grabbing everything left in the fridge and making a salad / stir-fry / casserole out of it! looks like it came out great 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday – Take 5 « TresLaLa to TinyLaLa

Leave a Reply

