RSS Feed

Reyes Adobe Days 10K (RAD 10K) Race Recap

Posted on

Apparently when the hubby’s out-of-town, I quit blogging too!  Yikes – seems like it’d be the opposite.  But alas, here I am, 3 days later…  Sorry!

Saturday morning I was up bright & early for the Reyes Adobe Days 10K, otherwise known as the RAD 10K.  Rad, huh?  (Ha!  I slay me!)

The race started at 8 AM, but I didn’t really know where I’d be parking, so I was up at 6:30 and out the door by 7:15 AM to drive to the start (only 15 minutes away, woot!), find parking, and line up.  I parked in a nearby neighborhood and walked about 1/2 mile to the start.  There were a bunch of porta-potties lined up, with even more racers in line for their PRD.  Luckily, my body cooperated, and I didn’t need to wait.  Whoop!

I crossed the start line & was just starting to look around for familiar faces when I heard, “Lara!”  It was a girl that I used to run with from work – she got fast, I stopped running, so I hadn’t seen her in a while…  I chatted with her and 2 other ladies for a bit, then about 10 minutes before the start I made my way back — nothing worse than starting with people that are too fast!  I then heard my name again!  A group of 3 of my friends, with 2 of their friends were WAY in back.  One of these ladies cajoled most of us into doing the race, since she and her hubby were hosting a post-race brunch.  I chatted, caught up, and joked around for a bit.  We were all set for when the gun started us off…

The whole race was supposedly downhill, but of course there were little bits of uphill.  I did mile 1 in 9:29 and mile 2 in 9:50.  Water stops at mile 2 & mile 4.  From Mile 4 to 5 was the toughest, with a bit of elevation grade, and I was already tired.  I decided that it would be best for me to walk up the hills (power walking, not strolling), and start running again at the crest.  By the time I got to Mile 5, I was thinking:

I can do anything for 10 minutes!

in an attempt to run the whole rest of the way.  Of course, I hadn’t planned on another hill.  I walked up that one too.  Then it came into sight – the driveway of Paramount Ranch.  We ran down the driveway, but then had do do a bit of a double-back.  I HATE running double-backs!  Once I finished that, I thought I saw the finish line, so I picked up the pace quite a bit.  Unfortunately, then saw the 6 mile marker, and realized that I still had almost a 1/4 mile to go!  So I slowed down a bit, but I’d kind of gassed myself out.  I finished strong, though!

Final chip time:  1:04:59

That’s a 10:29 per mile average, and 1:19 faster per mile than my last 10K, in March.  Woot!

A couple things I noted:

  • Race packet pickup was great – at the local running store.  Complete with a coupon for an additional 10% off
  • My race t-shirt was a tech shirt!  YAY!
  • No medals.  I’d rather have a tech shirt, but I wish they’d let us know
  • No photographers.  Weird!  Sorry kids, no pictures!

They had bottled water & bananas at the finish.  We then waited for the other folks from our group of 6 (the 5 people I ran into at the starting line and I).  One girl had never done a 10K before, so she was so excited when she finished.  Another girl was the last person in – she isn’t much of a jogger, but she had committed, so she decided to go through with it.  We cheered for her like she’d just won!

Once we got a final bottle of water, we headed over to where the shuttles were to pick us up.  And waited.  And waited.  And waited.  After we’d been waiting for at least 45 minutes, someone from the race came over to let us know that there had been a huge accident on the highway, and the buses were caught up in some nasty traffic.  One of the girls was on the phone with her hubby to come pick us up when a bus FINALLY pulled up – it had been about an hour since we had started standing in line.  Boy was it HOT!

But, the volunteers wrote down all of our bib numbers, and mentioned that they’d be sending us a discount code for the next race in March.  Since it wasn’t their fault that the buses were held up, I couldn’t be so upset…

However, once on the bus, they dropped 1 group off at a parking lot near the post-race Celebration (the Reyes Adobe Days Festival is a local family hot-spot).  There were no plans to drop anyone off closer to the start of the race. Yep, that’s right:  The race started in 1 place, ended in a 2nd, and had a shuttle stop at a 3rd.  The Final shuttle stop was a mile away from my car!  I hopped off the shuttle, went to grab a bagel, and realized that they were $1.50!  I didn’t have any cash on me!  Boo.  So I grabbed 2 orange slices and ran back to my car.  Yep, ran!

Was heading to a friend’s post-race brunch, when I, too, was stuck in traffic (the freeway was still closed), so I decided to call it a day.  I turned around, headed to The Habit for a lettuce-wrapped charburger…

Then it was off for a massage, and a 2-hour nap!

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

Leave a Reply

