RSS Feed

What I Ate Wednesday – Take 5

Posted on

Boy, was I exhausted this morning.  I just could not get out of bed!  So, I ended up missing my first 2 meetings.  Which was fine – I was not a required attendee. I hate missing meetings though.  And then, I thought my next meeting didn’t start until 9:30 – whoops.  Started at 9 – so I was 17 (!) minutes late.  Darn computer.  Takes FOR.EVER to start up!

So, I’m going to admit it… Because I know that you’ve missed me.  I haven’t been blogging.  And I forgot (FORGOT!) it was What I Ate Wednesday.

I promise that I’ll make it up to you.  But I cannot guarantee that I’ll be blogging daily.

So, my pictures are a bit regurgitated from previous weeks — up until the most important meal, anyway… Dinner!

But, we have to start at the beginning:

Breakfast = Decaf coffee (I’m weaning myself off caffeine) with skim milk & cinnamon plus a cup of oatmeal, peanut butter, strawberry jelly, topped with granola

I’m afraid, I can’t find any pics of that.  Boo.

Lunch was a sandwich at Whole Foods – avocado, arugula, goat cheese, tomato on an olive ciabatta roll.  Mmmm.

Roll with avocado, goat cheese, arugula, tomato, olive oil, salt & pepper.

For dinner, I was in the mood for some comfort food.  So I made… wait for it… Sloppy Joe’s.  AND, sweet potato fries!

I made the same recipe last week – and it was a total hit – so I just looked it up again, with my own twists, of course:

Sloppy Joes

Adapted from All Recipes

  • 1 pound Ground turkey breast
  • 1/2 Red onion, chopped
  • 1 large Red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves Garlic, pressed
  • 3/4 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 3/4 c Organic ketchup
  • 1 tbsp Brown sugar
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  1. Spray dutch oven with olive oil.  Sautee garlic, onion and red pepper.  Add turkey once the onion is translucent.  Using a baster, remove any extra liquid.
  2. Mix in mustard, ketchup, and brown sugar, as well as salt & pepper.
  3. Let simmer on low for 30 minutes, uncovered.
Meanwhile, I sliced up a sweet potato, first in half, then into wedges.  I coated the potatoes in an herb olive oil, then topped with salt & pepper.  These were cooked at 400* for 30 minutes (same as the Joes).  I flipped these twice during baking.
While that was ongoing, I mixed some homemade Cilantro pesto with mayonnaise for a cilantro aioli.  Mmmm, good stuff!
I toasted some multi-grain buns in the oven for about 2 minutes, then plated the Joes on the buns.

Dinner is SERVED!

All paired with a home-brewed OctoberFEAST.  Mmmm.  Note that Mason was the muse for this beer…
Dessert was baked apples – 1 for each of us.  With the oven at 375*, I placed 2 cored apples (sliced in half) with the flat-side down in a baking dish.  Topped with a sprinkle of brown sugar, and baked for 25 minutes.
Served with some granola on top.  I loved them, because they remind me of the apples my mom used to make.  The hubby prefers them “flipped” – baked with the flat part UP.  That makes them cook a bit more even.  I like a bit of tough “skin” though, with a really soft interior.  It’s  a texture thing, I suppose.
Tastes like fall!
Beware for pumpkin carving tomorrow!
About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

One response »

  1. Ohh sloppy joes, that’s something I haven’t made in awhile. Recipe looks great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

