RSS Feed

Sticky sweet & Needle sticks (oh, and valium)

Ahh, it’s all so glamorous, isn’t it?  Wait.  Wha?!?  You don’t think that infertility is glamorous?  You must be crazy.

So, here’s the deal:  I don’t know what the deal is.

  • Still waiting on test results.
  • Waiting for meds to kick in.
  • Waiting to see if my thyroid levels are better, or if I need a higher dose of medication.
  • Waiting to see if my pregnancy test will be positive.
  • Waiting to see if I have PCOS.
  • Waiting, waiting, waiting.

I thank goodness that I live in the US, with good health insurance.  Not that they’ll cover all of this, but they do pay for all diagnostic testing, as well as treatments for things like PCOS.  They won’t pay for fertility treatments, but I’m not too worried about that yet.

We met with a reproductive endocrinologist last Wednesday at noon for the initial consultation.  When he saw me, he immediately started thinking it was PCOS (yes, I do carry a lot of belly fat, thankyouverymuch).  He was impressed that I already had some tests completed, but said that some of the tests my PA ordered weren’t useful for anything, and said that I should not take the Progestin that she’d prescribed.  And that made me feel good, because that’s what I was thinking, and that’s why we were getting a 2nd opinion in the first place.

During my initial ultrasound, he took a look at my ovaries, and said that it looked less like PCOS than endometriosis, but he wasn’t sure.  I scheduled a hysterosalpingogram (HSG) for Friday afternoon.  He told me to continue on my prenatals and my thyroid medication.  We scheduled a sperm test for the hubby.  We decided to not go in for surgery for the endometriosis – just to treat empirically.  This is the best course of action for me, since I’m not having any other issues related to it.

I might have cried a bit at the thought that I might not be able to have children.  The doctor reassured me that I would be able to have as many babies as I wanted, and he thought by the end of next year I’d be holding my own – he wasn’t sure if it’d be a newborn or 5 months, but wanted me to know that all was not lost.

Thursday the hubby dropped off the sperm.  Friday I had the HSG – and all looked good.  (BTW – apparently Valium doesn’t do anything for me.  I was supposed to feel like I’d had 3 or 4 drinks – I was totally fine!  And by fine, I mean that I felt everything that happened in the test.  Boo.)  Saturday I had another ultrasound, and they gave me a shot of HCG to get the eggs that were in the ovaries to start making their way out, and gave us a prescription for daily sex through Monday.

This morning was a 2 hour glucose tolerance test with insulin testing.  That’s the definitive test for PCOS, I guess.  The drink tasted like a super sweet Sprite without any carbonation.  Blech.  But, I got to read about a hundred pages of The Hunger Games.  Yay!

I’ll take a pregnancy test the morning of December 3 (2 weeks after the HCG shot).  If it’s positive, I’ll go into the clinic for a confirmatory blood test and some progesterone.  If negative, I’ll wait and call them on Day 1 of my next cycle, and then start on Clomid.  Actually, I’ll probably take December “off” and start up again in January.  That will make Christmas a bit less stressful, and allow me to get Lasix on my eyes the first week of January (can’t do it if you’re pregnant).

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

2 responses »

  1. Elizabeth (Donzi)

    Hey – at least you’re finding things out. I’m not sure if you know but I was diagnosed with PCOS over a year ago. The Metformin helps me out with insulin levels and does a hormone reset from what my doctor said. Or makes them act right, or something. Not sure, but they give it to women to help them get pregnant as well.

    Just a little date here. I saw my doctor and he said that my hormone levels look fine but they should since i’m on birth control (which are hormones). He recommended I go off of it for a couple of months and see if that doesn’t help things. He also wants me to get a second opinion for thyroid. He thinks that’s what my problems are, even though my bests are borderline. Apparently there’s something called sub clinical thyroid problems?

    I know you hate the waiting game as much as I do. Hang in there.

    Reply
    • Thanks Elizabeth. I am definitely not a fan of the waiting game… I’m not used to things not working out for me. I just want to KNOW!!! But, will be excited when I finally get to figure out what’s happening. How much do you know about PCOS and any dietary changes that are recommended?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

