RSS Feed

Shops, Check-ins, and Whey…

Posted on

I Be Shoppin’

I went on a wild goose chase at lunch – except it paid off!  I won a $50 gift card to Lululemon at my gym.  The problem?  Their clothes only go up to a size 12.  Yes, that’s right.  Workout clothes for the teeny elite.  But, they do have amazing gym bags.  And, the one that I wanted was on sale!

At least, it was on sale last Friday online when I picked it out.  Unfortunately, after I picked up my gift card at the gym today, it was gone!  Aaargh!  I called Customer Service, and they told me a few stores in my area that had the bag.  First, I called the one near me – the girl working there said that they didn’t have any bags on sale.  None.  (Except Customer Service said they had a couple, in different colors!)  I then called a few other stores – Santa Monica had one, but I couldn’t get down there, and they don’t hold things (Against company policy.  Weird.)  Decided to head to the store near me first, to see if the girl was right…  If they didn’t have it, a coworker who lives in Santa Monica was going to go pick it up for me down there (of course, they may have sold out by the time she got there).

Anywhoo, I walked in the store, asked if they had the bag, and was immediately sent to the sale rack, where it was waiting for me!  Woot, woot!  So, I got a $118 gym bag (no, I would have never paid that) for $59, minus my gift card, plus tax, I paid $14.  Woot!  Yay me!

I also ran into one of the instructors that I had for Pilates Plus a few months ago.  She remembered me (which is weird, because I only saw her 4 times), and kept saying how strong I was, and if I was doing Pilates somewhere else.  Kind of made me feel like a rock star!

TinyLaLa Check-In

You know what also makes me go, “Yay me”?  This week’s TinyLaLa Check-in.  Today was weigh-in and body fat percentage determination.

  • Weight:  204.8 (Down from 208.6 – so that’s 3.8 pounds in a week!)
  • Body Fat:  36.6% (same as last week)

I asked my trainer about the BF percentage, as it concerned me that it stayed the same.  He didn’t have an issue with it – he said that I wasn’t losing a lot of muscle, because otherwise my BF percentage might go up.  I get that, but I still want the BF percentage to go down (even more so than the weight, actually!).

That’s basically 9 pounds from the beginning of this year (keeping in mind that this is an afternoon weight – this morning in my bathroom before showering I was 203).  And you know what?  I can see a difference.  My shoulders look WAY more toned, than even last week.  Crazy!

Protein Powders, please?

Y’all, I need some recommendations for protein powders.  I finished off my tubs of them from my nutritionist (well, I have 1/2 of one left, but tried it without mixing in any berries this afternoon post-workout and it was terrible!  Super grainy…)  I stopped at Whole Foods on the way home from my workout, and could not make up my mind!

What I’m looking for:

  • >20 g protein
  • < 140 calories
  • < 8 g carbs
  • High in calcium (my current one is 600 mg!!!)
  • Good flavor
  • No soy protein isolates
  • Ideally, it would be organic.  But if not organic, I did find one made from milk from cows in New Zealand (they really don’t farm animals in the massive corporate farms that we use here)

I was thinking that I wanted whey protein concentrate, but that takes longer to break down than whey protein isolate (but isolate isn’t as “good” or clean).  I would like to use the same thing to mix into my breakfast smoothies, but also be good for my post-workout protein shake.  I’m thinking that I might need 2 separate kinds (the one that mixes into my smoothie as a concentrate, for my post-workout as an isolate) – those could then be different flavors (vanilla for smoothie, chocolate for shake).

The “winner” nutrition-wise was Tera’s (and I’ve heard all good things about it), but it’s super expensive (about 4x the cost of the Whole Foods 365 brand one).  But, the 365 only had 15 g protein.  Tera’s is from Wisconsin though (*love*), and it’s organic.   Even the guy at Whole Foods said that it was definitely the “cleanest”.

Why is this so hard?!?

I picked up a few packets to try, but of course, not all have the sample packs available…

What do you use?  Why?  Do you like it?

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

3 responses »

  1. I love Garden of Life RAW Protein! check it out http://www.gardenoflife.com/ProductsforLife/SUPPLEMENTS/FoundationalNutrition/RAWProtein/tabid/1894/Default.aspx
    You can pick it up at Whole Foods or Vitamin Shoppe but I think it’s probably cheaper on Amazon.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Alyssa. How does it taste? Can it be mixed with water only and still be drinkable? Also, what’s your favorite flavor?

      Reply
      • Ya know, I haven’t tried it with water (only mixed in smoothies). The taste is mild compared to a lot of other protein powders I have used. Although I always add a bit more stevia or maple syrup when i use the RAW. As for flavors, I only saw plain but I would love a Vanilla – let me know if you find flavors!

Leave a Reply

