RSS Feed

Up, down, up, down…

Posted on

And, my weight is on its way up.  Not that I can say that I’m all that surprised, but it’s so frustrating at how finicky it is!  Saturday I was well within calorie targets before going to our friends’ housewarming party.  I steered clear of the wine and the food as much as possible (even grabbing a clementine instead of a slice of mushroom tart), but I eventually succumbed to the cheese tray.  Based on my estimates, I was still OK, but the extra dairy does not help me one bit.

I ended up not making anything for the party (which was fine, because they had TONS of food), but instead brought them a gift bag with bread, a specialty salt, and wine:

  • Bread – So that the house may never know hunger
  • Salt – So that your life is infused with spice
  • Wine – So that you have joy & spirit

I love the interwebs and their great ideas!  🙂  I got a loaf of herbed California bread from Great Harvest, and a smoked alder salt from Whole Foods, along with a Roblar Syrah 2008.  I would have LOVED the gift – which is usually my trigger that it’s acceptable!

Yesterday was not so great in the food department.  We had an appointment in the morning that lasted an hour and a half, so by the time we were finished we were famished!  Made plans to meet some friends for brunch, which was supposed to be off-limits this month.  I used a Groupon-type deal though, so I justified it, and it was for “sneaky healthy” food.  Unfortunately, both the food & the service were “meh”.  I won’t be going back.  Which then put me in a bad mood because I’d “wasted” a meal out on something that wasn’t good…

I ended up taking an hour and a half-long nap when I got home, then headed out to do the grocery shopping.  The friends who had the housewarming party were coming over to celebrate Chinese New Year, and I was cooking.  On the menu:

  • Trader Joe’s Vegetable Gyoza
  • Trader Joe’s Chicken Shu Mai
  • Trader Joe’s Pork Bao
  • Grilled chicken with Asian marinade
  • Steamed shrimp & vegetables (carrots, snap peas, broccoli & cauliflower)
  • Brown Rice

It wasn’t over the top, but I definitely over-did it on the calories.  And the sodium.  Paying the price today with an increase in weight, and a bit of bloat.  Doesn’t help that a new medication that I’m on will also cause bloat…  :-/  Just hope that it works!  🙂

After dinner we sipped a bunch of herbal tea, while I made some egg white salad for snacks this week, along with a lentil soup.  Our refrigerator is filled to the BRIM!!!

Heading to a new Pilates studio for a spin / Pilates combo session tonight at 5:30.  It’s pouring rain here, so I’m not super excited about doing anything but crawling into bed, but I know I’ll be excited when I get there, do the workout, and head home.

About TresLaLa

I'm really just a thin girl with a lot of extra padding...

2 responses »

  1. sounds like you are doing great! the up down thing is just part of it and the main goal is to keep moving forward! i have to say though it ALWAYS seems like i am eating salty food the night before i weigh in lmao!

    Reply
    • I’ve been doing the crazy water, water, water, herbal tea, herbal tea, herbal tea thing to flush all this sodium out. I think it’s finally gone, and I’m down to 201 this morning. Fingers crossed for 199.8 this weekend! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

